Mount Diablo

Surveyors Historical Society

Bylaws

Article I.

Identification

<u>Section 1. Name.</u> The name of this organization is the "Mount Diablo Surveyors Historical Society" (here in after referred to as the "MDSHS").

<u>Section 2. Purpose</u>. The MDSHS is created to enrich the general public by collecting, preserving and displaying the knowledge, technology and artifacts of the Land Surveying Profession.

Article II.

<u>Membership</u>

<u>Section 1.</u> There shall be the following classifications of membership:

- A. Regular Member
- B. Life Member
- C. Student Member
- D. Honorary Member
- E. Sustaining Member
- 1. Bronze
- 2. Silver
- 3. Gold

<u>Section 2.</u> Full and equal voting rights and eligibility to hold office or serve on the Board of Directors of the "MDSHS" shall be enjoyed by all members, except Honorary and Sustaining members. No person shall hold more than one membership in the "MDSHS". The Board of Directors shall establish qualifications for each class of Member.

<u>Section 3.</u> Member classifications shall coincide with the above Section 1, except that a member may also be designated "Charter Member" "MDSHS" if that member holds 1991 calendar year membership in the "MDSHS".

<u>Section 4.</u> Any person who has an interest in our purpose as described in Article I, Section 2 of these Bylaws is eligible to be a member of "MDSHS".

<u>Section 5.</u> Any Person eligible for membership under Article II Section 4 of these Bylaws shall be admitted to membership only on the approval of the Board of Directors of an application submitted by such person, in such form, and in such manner as shall be prescribed by the Board of Directors and upon the payment of the first annual dues as specified in Article II, Section 6 of these Bylaws.

<u>Section 6.</u> The annual dues that are payable to "MDSHS" by members shall be such for amounts as shall be recommended by resolution of the Board of Directors and approved by a simple majority of the membership by the ballots cast. Dues shall be payable for the first year on admission to membership and annually thereafter at such time as may be fixed by the Board of Directors

Article III.

Board of Directors

<u>Section 1.</u> The "MDSHS" shall be governed by a five member Board of Directors that is elected by the membership during the annual meeting held in February of each year as specified in Article III, Section 3.

<u>Section 2.</u> The Board of Directors shall consist of a chairman, Vice Chairman, historian, secretary and Treasurer.

<u>Section 3.</u> The Chairman, Vice Chairman, and the Secretary shall be elected for two year terms in even calendar years, The Treasurer and the Historian shall be elected for two year terms in odd calendar years thereafter. The term of office begins immediately after the adjournment of the membership meeting in which they are elected.

<u>Section 4.</u> The Chairman shall prepare an agenda and conduct meetings.

<u>Section 5.</u> The Secretary shall keep a permanent file of the following five items:

- A. Minutes of the membership meetings.
- B. Minutes of the Board of Directors meetings.
- C. A roster of "MDSHS" membership
- D. All Correspondence.
- E. Activities submitted by the membership.

<u>Section 6.</u> In the event of a vacancy, the remaining Board members shall select a member of the "MDSHS" to complete the vacant term.

<u>Section 7.</u> Three Board members must be in attendance to have a Board of Directors meeting. At least three favorable votes are required to pass any motion.

Article IV.

Administration

<u>Section 1.</u> The "MDSHS" has nominal geographical limits coincident with that portion of the States of California and Nevada northerly of the most northerly township line of the San Bernardino Meridian, said line also being the most southerly township line of the Mount Diablo Meridian.

<u>Section 2.</u> The "MDSHS" shall have a minimum of one membership meeting per calendar year to be held in February of each year.

Article V.

Bylaw Changes

<u>Section 1.</u> These Bylaws may be amended by a three/fourths (*) vote of the ballots cast by the general membership.

Adopted October 2, 1991

SIGNED BY: /S/ .

Norman Payne

Chairman

Mount Diablo

Surveyors Historical Society

SIGNED BY: /S/ .

Don Marcott

Secretary

Mount Diablo

Surveyors Historical Society